Tata Open Maharashtra to ace for SOFOSH

Tata Open Maharashtra organisers on Friday announced city-based SOFOSH as their NGO partner. The Pune-based NGO is dedicated to care, development and rehabilitation of orphans at child-care centre Shreevatsa. 

Every ace served by players at the upcoming Tata Open Maharashtra will add to the kitty of this NGO for the benefit of the underprivileged.

TARA SOFOSH DHAPHALE centre in Pimple Gurav is dedicated to nurturing and supporting differently abled children. SOFOSH (Society of Friends of Sassoon Hospitals) provides extensive support for the patients of the Sassoon Hospital by providing medicines, counseling, financial aid for needy patients and infrastructure support to the hospital through its patient welfare activities, informed Dr. Kavita Kareer, Vice-Chairperson, SOFOSH. 

“As organisers, we not only want to cater to tennis lovers but the impact of such a big tournament in the city should be on the society at large too thus we chose to partner SOFOSH. Through this partnership, we aim to do as much as we can for the needy. Every ace served at the tournament will fetch a donation for the NGO, we also appeal to tennis lovers to pledge some donations for every ace,” said Prashant Sutar, Tournament Director, Tata Open Maharashtra.

The organisers will have donation boxes placed at the Fan Park so fans can do their bit towards the noble cause. The NGO has been in service for 54 years thanks to dedicated service and the selfless donations of its well-wishers. 

“Nelson Mandela once said that Sport has the power to change the world. With this initiative, we want to make a difference to the society at large and use the medium of sport in a manner that brings smiles on faces of the affected people,” said Sunder Iyer, Hon. Secretary, Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association. 

The tournament will be played at the Mhalunge Balewadi Stadium, Pune from December 31, 2018 to January 5, 2019. Defending champion and World No. 30 Gilles Simon from France alongside World No. 6 Kevin Anderson from South Africa, World No. 7 Marin Cilic from Croatia, World No. 25 Hyeon Chung from Korea and World No. 45 Malek Jaziri from Tunisia will play the season-opening event.