Divij Sharan conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award

The 2019 Tata Open Maharashtra Doubles Champion Divij Sharan has been conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award for his achievements in Tennis. He is only the 19th lawn tennis player to get the honour of receiving this award since it started in 1961.


The recipient of the 2020 Arjuna Award, Divij Sharan saw major success in the ITF Futures & ATP Challenger circuit earlier in his professional career. A doubles specialist, Divij, also represented India in the Davis Cup.


Let's look at some career highlights of India's second-highest ATP ranked player in Men's Doubles.


2007 - Won Men's Doubles at Nigeria F1 Futures, his first ITF Futures Doubles title.


2009 - Won five ITF Futures titles, all with Vishnu Vardhan.


2011 - Won his maiden ATP Challenger title at Ningbo Challenger. The same year he also won seven ITF Futures titles in doubles.


2012 - Made his Davis Cup debut against New Zealand.


2013 - Won his first ATP Tour title in Bogota (w/Purav Raja).


2014 - Bronze medal at the 2014 Incheon Asian Games (w/Yuki Bhambri).


2016 - Second ATP Tour title in Los Cabos (w/Purav Raja).


2018 - Asian Games Gold medalist in Men's Doubles (w/Rohan Bopanna).


2019 - Won two ATP Tour titles (Tata Open Maharashtra, Pune with Rohan Bopanna and ATP St. Petersburg with Igor Zelenay).


Overall, Divij has five ATP Tour and 16 ATP Challenger titles to his name. It has been a long wait for the Delhi-born Indian international and the honour of receiving the Arjuna Award will certainly boost his confidence in years to come.